Stansted Tennis Club

Stansted Tennis Club Finals Day 2022

Finals’ Day for Stansted Tennis Club’s annual knockout tournament was played on Sunday 11 September. Organised to perfection by Daphne Lunnon.

The day commenced at 10am and was observed by a minutes’s silence to pay respect to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II following her death aged 96 on 8 September 2022..

In the Ladies’ Singles event, Daphne Lunnon defended and retained the trophy, beating Sandra Ayres 6-4, 6-4. Sandra saved four match points in the seventh game of the second set at 5-1 down, won the next two games, only for Daphne to clinch it in a close two setter.

In the Men’s Singles event, Jon Budd was defending his title against club newcomer, Jon Purshouse. In a thrilling first set, Jon P won on a tie break, taking the second set with a bit more ease, 6-2.

The Ladies’ Doubles was a repeat of last year’s match – Carol Cook and Fiona Pye against Diane Brown and Daphne Lunnon. The result was pretty much the same too – Carol and Fiona retained the title, winning in two sets, 6-4, 6-3.

Father and son duo (and club newcomers) Andy and Sam Constantinou took on reigning champions Jon Budd and Simon Fox in the Men’s Doubles. The Constantinous won the first set 6-2, but Jon and Simon stayed in close contention throughout the second set, narrowly losing 7-5.

It was an all-new line up for the Mixed Doubles final, with Ben Jones and Marta Hensall taking on David Fletcher and Carol Cook. Ben and Marta were convincing from the get go, with Ben in particular, taking no prisoners at the net. They won in two sets 6-1, 6-1.

The only three setter of the day was the Men’s Singles Plate final, contested by Mindaugas Pekorius and Ash Patel. Ash won the first set 6-4, then Mindaugas clawed back from 3-5 down to win the second set 7-5. In the final set, Ash won the first five games, so it looked like it was done and dusted. But Mindaugas didn’t go down without a fight, winning the next two games before losing in the eighth game giving Ash the match, 6-2.

The Roger Loveday trophy for most improved player of the year was won by Mark Harris.

Thanks also to Phil Berry, Garth, Debbie and Daphne for umpiring and to Jon, Ash, Fiona O’Brien and Lyn Timms who were a big help on the day.

(click on image for full size)